No Place for Hate

On October 30th, SDJA sent our second annual No Place for Hate (NPFH) delegation of MUS students and staff to the ADL’s NPFH 2019 Leadership Conference.  An enthusiastic group of nine students ranging from 7th-12th grades (Ilan Leisorek (12th), Tali Eichner (12th), Yosi Galicot (10th), Alec Amiel (10th), Rena Novum (10th), Rebecca Manor (9th), Ofel Mosessco (8th), Sam Land (7th), and Elisa Cohen (7th) were accompanied by Alicia Johal, Rabbi Ally Jacobson, Carol Ann Chambers, Sarah Greenstein, Amy Scher and Susan Wu.


The day was full of meaningful opportunities to connect with delegations from dozens of schools around San Diego County. Together, we explored what No Place for Hate means to us and brainstormed actions that our school communities can make to embody this initiative.  Keynote speaker and the CEO of Jewish Family Service of San Diego, Michael Hopkins, spoke passionately about the impact of Anti-Semitism and other forms of hate, activating each and every individual to become empowered to make a difference. Through small group break-out sessions, students and adults had the chance to network and collaborate with peers to develop plans of action for the coming year.  Already coming together back on campus to consider next steps, our NPFH team is busy planning our school-wide Resolution of Respect signing as well as the first of three activities they will facilitate through the year. Our focus this year will be on helping students strengthen ties with one another by learning about the different aspects of our identities that make us who we are. 

Anna Falkiewicz, Dean of Students

Comments are closed.